Diabetes in the snow

For the first time in years, I had a chance to play in the snow. It’s been a few years since we had a real serious snow storm in Central PA, and since I’m a grown up it’s not always possible for me to play in it. However, thanks to a snow day last week I finally had a chance to roll around in the snow with my daughter and my dog.

Snow is one of those things that most people wouldn’t realize can be very difficult for someone with diabetes to deal with. We often have lots of electronic devices strapped to us that can’t get wet. Plus, all of the added activity involved with playing in the snow can make blood sugars do crazy and unexpected things. Oh, not to mention your meter can get so cold that it doesn’t work, and you have to protect your insulin from freezing! Whew. So much to think about!

Here’s what I did:

Before heading out I tested my blood sugar to make sure I wasn’t too low and to calibrate my Dexcom G4.
I put on my snow pants and tucked my pump into the waistband where it would stay nice and warm against my body and have some added protection from all my layers.
I put my Dexcom receiver in the zip up pocket of my snow pants where it wouldn’t slip out, but could still get all of the information from my transmitter.
After an hour or so, I took a break to take a look at my Dexcom receiver and make sure I wasn’t dropping too much. I double checked it with a finger prick, too!

Overall, this snow experience was a success! We made a snow man and lots of snow angels, threw a few snowballs, and ate a ton of snow (it’s zero carbs!).

 

So… how do you handle snow? Do you have blood sugar problems? How do you stay on top of them?

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

